The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
Aims Community College    
 
    
 
  Oct 21, 2017
 
Catalog 2017-2018

Cost: Tuition and Fees



Classes requiring payment of a lab or course fee will be designated in the online course schedule.

Active duty members of the U. S. Armed Forces (and their dependents) residing in Colorado on a permanent change-of-station status and honorably-discharged veterans of the U.S. Armed Forces may be eligible for in-state tuition rates. Contact the Admissions, Registration and Records Office for details.

Complete information regarding residency is available in the Admissions, Registration, and Records Office, where students may obtain a Change of Residency Petition. The final petition must be submitted and approved by the first day of the semester.

ALL TUITION AND FEE CHARGES ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE BY THE AIMS COMMUNITY COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEES AS CIRCUMSTANCES MAY REQUIRE, WITHOUT NOTICE. SEE WEBSITE FOR UPDATED INFORMATION.

 


Tuition Type
Summer Semester 2017
Fall Semester 2017
Spring Semester 2018


Tuition Rate Per Credit Hour*
 

 

In-District**

In-State

Out-of-State

Standard Tuition
 

$67.36

$105.73

$425.25

Low Differential
includes Automotive, Fire Science,
and Communications Media
 


$118.45


$206.01


$591.15

Medium Differential
includes Surgical Technology and Sterile Instrument Processing
 


$123.60


$215.82


$620.55

High Differential
includes Aviation, Radiologic
Technology, and Nursing
 


$128.75


$226.72


$651.00

*Tuition rate by credit hour listed here does not include fees and other charges for services.
**In-District classification for tuition purposes is for students who are Colorado residents
(according to tuition classification law) and live in the Aims tax district.
Please visit the Aims web site at www.aims.edu/student/cashier/tuition for current tuition rates and fees.
 

All Tuition and Fee charges are subject to change by the Aims Community College District
Board of Trustees as circumstances may require, without notice.

 

 

Student Financial Responsibility Policy

By applying for admission, registering for classes or allowing charges to be added to their account, students represent to us that they have the intention and ability to pay, and they promise to pay for all charges placed on their account as well as any service charges or collection costs, if any, that may be due.
Payment policy is as follows:

First Payment Deadline:

Students need to have at least one of the following completed by the first payment deadline or all their classes may be dropped automatically at 10:00 p.m. that night of the First Payment Deadline:

  • Pay in Full
  • Sign up online for MyPaymentPlan
  • Be awarded Financial Aid
  • Submit private scholarship paperwork
  • Submit 3rd Party paperwork
  • Submit UNC/CSU Cooperative Agreement
  • Submit completed High School Concurrent Enrolled program, Early College & Career Academy paperwork
  • Under the age of 18
     

Students who have their course dropped for non-payment will need to re-register for courses and complete one of the above in the same day or again be dropped from all courses. Required paperwork is to be submitted, during business hours, to the appropriate office by the Payment Deadline or at time of registration.

*Please note: If your required down payment and/or enrollment fee fails to process with MyPaymentPlan, your classes may be dropped and your contract will be terminated.

Same Day

Students registering after the First Payment Deadline for the semester need to complete at least one of the following same day of registration or all their classes may be dropped automatically at 10:00 p.m. that night through the Add period for the semester.

  • Pay in Full
  • Sign up online for MyPaymentPlan
  • Be awarded Financial Aid
  • Submit private scholarship paperwork
  • Submit 3rd Party paperwork
  • Submit UNC/CSU Cooperative Agreement
  • Submit completed High School Concurrent Enrolled program, Early College & Career Academy paperwork
  • Under the age of 18
     

Students who have their courses dropped for non payment will need to re-register for courses and complete one of the above in the same day or again be dropped from all courses. Required paperwork is to be submitted, during business hours, to the appropriate office by the Deadlines or at time of registration.

*Please note: If your required down payment and/or enrollment fee fails to process with MyPaymentPlan, your classes may be dropped and your contract will be terminated.

Final Payment Deadline

All students must have paid their entire (100%) tuition and fee balance for the term by the Final payment deadline. Please check web site for current dates and deadlines. Students who have not paid 100% of their tuition & fees, except students on active Nelnet payment plans, by the final payment deadline will have a hold placed on their account, and be required to make full payment for those courses. In addition, the student will not be allowed to register for future courses or receive transcripts until the outstanding balance is paid in full. If the student is registered for a future semester and owes a balance for the current semester as of the Final Payment Deadline, then the student may be at risk of being dropped from all future courses and placed on Financial hold until the balance is paid in full.

It is the student’s responsibility to pick up or view online his/her combined bill/schedule at the time of registration, add, drop, or withdrawal. Subsequent billing statements notices will be sent via e-mail to the student’s Aims e-mail address. Payment is due at the Cashier’s Office on or before due dates shown on the billing statement.

Payments from financial aid will be automatically posted to the billing account.

A service charge of 1.75% of the unpaid balance will be added to the student’s account if not paid in full by the Final Payment due date by the Cashier’s office. Accounts that are reported to Aims by the MyPaymentPlan as a delinquent or inactive status will be placed on Financial hold at the time of the report from the MyPaymentPlan web site. Service charges are figured on the student’s account by applying the service charge rate to the balance that is owed at the payment due date. The annual percentage rate (APR) that corresponds to this service charge is 21%. In addition to its internal processes, please be advised that the college also uses external collection services to pursue unpaid amounts. The fee for such services will be added to outstanding balances.

Refer To the Website for Specific Due Dates and Updated Information

  1. Payments may be made in cash, Money Order, VISA, MasterCard, American Express, or Discover Card. E-check is available through the MyPaymentPlan. Cashier will accept personal, one-party checks in the amount of charges only. Temporary counter checks are no longer accepted by the College. A valid driver’s license is required. Every check returned to the College will be collected by CrediCheck. Checks will not be accepted from students who have written or submitted two or more returned checks to the College. In addition, checks declined by the Check Verification System, sponsored by Credit Check, will not be accepted as payment.
  2. PAYMENT PLAN OPTION: Students may also pay their tuition and fees through installments by signing up for a MyPaymentPlan. Payment plan information can be found at www.aims.edu.
    Final payment deadline……….Balance due ***ALL accounts with a balance after the Final payment deadline are assessed with a 1.75% service fee and are placed on Financial hold until account is paid in full. Students planning on registering for the next semester need to have all outstanding balances paid in full.***
  3. Self-Supporting/Continuing Education Classes: Tuition and fees for these classes are due upon registration.
  4. Students Sponsored by a Third Party Agency:
    1. A valid letter of sponsorship is required to be on file in Cashier’s office. The valid letter needs to be on file by the payment deadlines, as specified in our current publication, in order to prevent classes from being dropped.
    2. Students are required to make arrangements for agency billing with Cashier’s Office in accordance with payment deadlines.
    3. Students are responsible for any charges not covered by their Agency and are subject to late fees and refund guidelines.
    4. Third Party tuition authorizations are generally posted within 30-45 days AFTER the Drop Deadline to the student account.
    5. Questions? Call Cashier’s Office, 970.339.6349 or e-mail at cashier@aims.edu
  5. Each student is responsible for payment of his/her own expenses. The College is not responsible for making payment arrangements with parents, guardians, international agencies, or other third parties.

Aviation Flight Fees

Professional Pilot/General Aviation Pilot Program

 

 

Cost per Hour

Required Hours

Total Estimated Cost

Dual

Solo

Pre/Post/

Ground 

Dual

Solo

Pre/Post/

Ground

Private Pilot

AVT102

$ 166.00

$ 126.00

$ 40.00

34

11

30

$ 13,200.00

Instrument Pilot

AVT 112

$ 166.00

N/A

$ 40.00

40

N/A

30

$ 9,980.00

Comm. Flight I

AVT 202

$ 166.00

$126.00

$ 40.00

13

40

8

$ 7,918.00

Comm. Flight II

AVT 203

C172 - $ 166.00

C182 - $ 229.00

$ 126.00

$ 40.00

C172 - 27

C182 - 15

25

35

$ 13,417.00

Multi Engine

AVT 208

$ 275.00

N/A

$ 40.00

15

N/A

10

$5,435.00

Multi Engine XCountry

AVT 210

$ 275.00

$ 117.50

$ 40.00

3

15

(not solo, safety pilot)

3

$ 2,707.50

Flight Instructor

AVT 213

C172 - $ 166.00

C182 - $ 229.00

Citabria - $ 201.00

 

N/A

$ 40.00

C172 - 12

C182 - 13

Citabria - 2

N/A

56

$ 8,361.00

Instrument Instructor

AVT 222

$ 166.00

N/A

$ 40.00

15

N/A

15

$ 3,840.00

Multi Engine Instructor

AVT 223

$ 275.00

N/A

$ 40.00

25

N/A

20

$ 8,625.00

Pilot Refresher

AVT 235

$ 166.00

N/A

$ 40.00

15

N/A

18

$ 3,210.00

Tail Wheel

AVT 236

$ 201.00

N/A

$ 40.00

12

N/A

10

$ 2,812.00

Basic Aerobatics

AVT 237

$ 201.00

N/A

$ 40.00

8

N/A

8

$ 1,928.00

*Rates subject to change at any time. 
*Course tuition per credit hour are charged in addition to amounts shown above
*All course tuition per hour rates are charged at the High Differential rate.
*Aviation courses may also charge an additional lab/course fee ranging from $200-$2000 per course. See current class schedule for details.

Aviation Flight Fees

Helicopter Pilot Program

 

Cost per Hour

Required Hours

Checkride Fee

Flight Supplies

Aircraft

Simulator

Ground

Aircraft 

Simulator

Ground

Instrument Pilot - 300C

AVT 112

$ 435.00

$ 130.00

$ 50.00

40

20

24

$ 900.00

$ 124.09

Instrument Pilot - R44

AVT 112

$ 585.00

$ 130.00

$ 50.00

40

20

24

$ 900.00

$ 124.09

Comm. Flight I - 300C

AVT 204

$ 435.00

$ 130.00

$ 50.00

60

2

15

-

$ 53.17

Comm. Flight I - R44

AVT 204

$ 585.00

$ 130.00

$ 50.00

60

2

30

-

$ 150.00

Comm. Flight I - Turbine

AVT 204

300C - $ 435.00

206BIII - $ 1225.00

 

$ 130.00

$ 50.00

300C - 45

206BIII - 15

 

10

20

-

$ 150.00

Comm. Flight II - 300C

AVT 214

$ 435.00

$ 130.00

$ 50.00

55

6

15

$ 900.00

-

Comm. Flight II - R44

AVT 214

$ 585.00

$ 130.00

$ 50.00

55

3

30

$ 900.00

-

Comm. Flight II - Turbine

AVT 214

300C - $ 435.00

206BIII - $ 1225.00

 

$ 130.00

$ 50.00

300C - 40

206BIII - 15

 

3

20

$ 900.00

-

Flight Instructor - 300C

AVT 215

$ 435.00

$ 130.00

$ 50.00

35

5

40

$ 1,200.00

$ 59.48

SFAR 73 Flight Instructor

AVT 217

300C - $ 435.00

R44 - $ 585.00

 

$ 130.00

$ 50.00

300C - 16

R44 - 51

 

5

32

$ 1,500.00

$ 59.48

Instrument Instructor - 300C

AVT 222

$ 435.00

$ 130.00

$ 50.00

15

5

15

$ 1,200.00

$ 17.58

Instrument Instructor - R44

AVT 222

$ 585.00

$ 130.00

$ 50.00

15

5

15

$ 1,200.00

$ 17.58

External Load AVT 219 $ 635.00   $ 50.00 16   10   $ 59.94
Mandatory fee per Helicopter course
FRH Administrative fee    $ 1,787.00

 

Total Estimated Cost per Helicopter Course (includes all rates and fees indicated above):

Instrument Pilot - 300C

AVT 112

$ 24,011.09

Instrument Pilot - R44

AVT 112

$ 30,011.09

Comm. Flight I - 300C

AVT 204

$ 30,748.66

Comm. Flight I - R44

AVT 204

$ 38,797.00

Comm. Flight I - Turbine

AVT 204

$ 42,187.00

Comm. Flight II - 300C

AVT 214

$ 28,502.00

Comm. Flight II - R44

AVT 214

$ 36,492.00

Comm. Flight II - Turbine

AVT 214

$ 39,592.00

Flight Instructor - 300C

AVT 215

$ 20,912.99

SFAR 73 Flight Instructor

AVT 217

$ 42,391.48

Instrument Instructor - 300C

AVT 222

$ 10,929.58

Instrument Instructor - R44

AVT 222

$ 13,179.58

External Load AVT 219 $ 12,506.94
*Aircraft rate per hour includes aircraft, fuel, instructor and Pre/Post flight briefing 
*Rates subject to change at any time.
*All course tuition per hour rates are charged at the High Differential rate.

*Not all helicopter courses are VA eligible.
 

Front Range Helicopters VA/AIMS Books and Supplies 

Course
Item
Price

AVT 204/214: Commercial Pilot

FAA Oral Exam Guide - Commercial Pilot

  $ 13.80

FAA PTS - Commercial Pilot

  $ 14.83

Principles of Helicopter Flight

  $ 33.03

TOTAL COST
$ 61.66
     

AVT 215/217: Certified
Flight Instructor

FAA Flight Instructor Test Prep.

  $ 23.39

FAA PTSs - CFI

  $ 14.83

FAA Aviation Instructor Handbook

  $ 21.26

TOTAL COST
$ 59.48
     

AVT 112: Instrument

FAA Oral Exam Guide

$ 13.80

Instrument Procedures Handbook

$ 31.91

FAA Instrument Flying Handbook

$ 26.58

FAA PTS (Instrument)

$ 14.83

SW Terminal Procedures Chart

$  6.34

L/10 Enroute Charts

$  5.59

GPS/Nav. Equipment Manuals

$ 25.04

TOTAL COST
$ 124.09
     
AVT 222: Instrument Instructor (CFII)

SW Terminal Procedures Chart

$ 6.34

L/10 Enroute Chart

$ 5.59

SW AFD

$ 5.65

TOTAL COST
$ 17.58
     
AVT 219: External Load

Syllabus

$ 59.94

TOTAL COST
$ 59.94

 

Tuition and Fee Refund Policy

Refunds are issued to students within 14 days of the date that the credit/negative balance is created on the student account. The college has partnered with Heartland Campus Solutions RefundSelect program. All refunds are processed through RefundSelect and disbursed to the student per that refund program. All students are required to enroll in RefundSelect and indicate a refund disbursement method. The college does not issue refunds back to debit/credit cards and refunds are not issued to parents, guardians, and other parties.

Please visit www.aims.edu/student/cashier for additional information.
 

Financial Obligations of Students

The financial obligations of students to the college, such as payments for tuition, fees, and books, are due and payable on specific dates or at the time the obligations are incurred. If the student is 17 years old and younger, all financial obligations are the responsibility of the parent. Students will not be allowed to register, receive diploma, or receive transcripts of courses completed unless all financial obligations to the college have been met. See web site for updated information and specific due dates.

Upon application and registration with the college, the student agrees to the Student Financial Responsibility Agreement.  This agreement binds the student to the financial obligations of the school. 

Lifetime Learning and American Opportunity Credit

The American Opportunity and Lifetime Credit, included in the Federal Taxpayer Relief Act of 1997, promises to make education at community colleges even more affordable than it has been in the past.

The Lifetime Learning and the American Opportunity Credit is available for qualified tuition and related expenses paid after June 30, 1998.

For the tax credit, students must be enrolled at least half time (6 credit hours) in a degree, certificate or other program leading to recognized education credential.

The tax credit applies only to tuition and fees and all eligible educational expenses.

For detailed information on limits and eligibility, please consult your tax advisor or Publication 970 at www.irs.gov