Catalog 2023-2024 
    
    Apr 19, 2024  
Catalog 2023-2024

Behavioral Sciences


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Degrees and Certificates

Location:

Westview 278, (970) 339-6296

Department Chair:

ShawnaLee Washam, PhD, shawna.washam@aims.edu, (970) 339-6346

Faculty:

Cathy Beighey, cathy.beighey@aims.edu, (970) 339-6371

Sociology

Dr. Selani Flores, selani.flores@aims.edu, (970) 339-3549

Psychology

Juanita Hernandez, juanita.hernandez@aims.edu, (970) 339-6270

Psychology

Dr. Pamela Lundeberg, pamela.lundeberg@aims.edu, (970) 339-6205

Psychology

Denise Pearson, denise.pearson@aims.edu, (970) 339-6330

Advancing Academic Achievement

(Arthur) Jeremy Rottini, jeremy.rottini@aims.edu, (970) 339-4986

Psychology

Francie Rottini, francie.rottini@aims.edu, (970) 339-6417

Psychology

Dr. ShawnaLee Washam, shawna.washam@aims.edu, (970) 339-6346

Psychology

Degrees/Certificates offered:

Associate of Arts (A.A. degree)

Associate of Science (A.S. degree)

The Behavioral Sciences Department at Aims Community College offers students a wide range of instructional opportunities. While Behavioral Sciences refers most directly to the department of Psychology, the disciplines Women and Gender Studies, Ethnic Studies, Sociology, and Advancing Academic Achievement are also grouped together in this same organizational structure. Students who are interested in careers in teaching, government/public service, public health, human services, psychology, counseling, sociology, social work, and countless others that require critical thinking and appreciation for diversity and global learning will find that our courses pave the way to employment as well as provide the foundation for the first two years of a bachelors degree for students interested in transferring on to the university.

Students who are unsure of their “major” or who are not positive about their career choices find the Behavioral Sciences help them hone in on educational and career options that they may never have considered. These courses help students meet their required courses, as listed in the A.A., A.S., A.A.S., A.G.S., and certificate information in this catalog, and they serve the student as “electives” within nearly any program.

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Degrees and Certificates